Yonkers Downtown Waterfront District
The Downtown Yonkers Waterfront District is a historically industrial waterfront composed of interesting architecture, historic buildings (including St. John's Church, Phillipse Manor Hall, and the former Otis Elevator Building), incredible views of the Palisades, and ground zero for the tech, art and film movement.
This quaint has all of the historic charm of a Hudson River front city, but has the grit, innovation, and creative drive that makes the City of Yonkers a truly unique place to live, work and to visit. Within the very walls of the Otis Elevator plant where the elevator breaks were invented, is the modern manufacturing of digital apps by IAC Applications. Incredible restaurants, Yonkers Brewing Co., and cultural hot-spots like the soon to be launched Warburton Galerie, as well as contemporary art galleries Urban Studio Unbound and Blue Door Art Gallery.
The Downtown Waterfront District also is home to public sculptures along the waterfront and murals by world renown artists Nick Walker, Damien Mitchell, Fumero, Crash and Bronx's very own Wall WorksNY.
Carpet Mills Arts District
The Alexander Smith Carpet Mills is home a critical mass of Yonkers most creative people- artists, wood workers, piano tuners, and other creative industrials. The YoHo Open Studios event, now in its 13th year, involves over 60 artists, artisans, musicians, creative new media specialists, designers and other creative manufacturers. opening their studio doors to showcase their work.
All studios are conveniently concentrated with easy parking and elevator access. Live music, presentations, demonstrations, and other basic amenities will be available for visitors to enjoy as they explore this creative community. Details and more information can be found on this event page and YOHO Artists Facebook page.
Yonkers Mayor Mike Spano joined the owners of the historic Alexander Smith Carpet Mills property and local artists to announce their proposal of the Carpet Mills Arts District (CMAD) in Yonkers.
For the first time owners representing over 1.5 million square feet of the historic Carpet Mills have partnered with the City of Yonkers to create an arts district. The first phase will involve the placement of approximately 45 banners, creative lighting, infrastructure improvements and other branding efforts around the perimeter of the property (Nepperhan Ave./Axminster St./ Saw Mill River Rd./ Lake Ave.) to delineate the Carpet Mills as a unique arts destination. A subsequent phase will involve certain zoning allowances to make the CMAD a regional destination for cultural tourism.
Untermyer Gardens was built from 1912-1915 by prominent attorney Samuel Untermyer, was designed by Beaux Arts architect William Welles Bosworth. Bosworth’s layout and governing principles are Indo-Persian, with Greco-Roman structures and embellishments. The upper garden is surrounded on three sides by a crenulated wall with four reflecting pools representing the four rivers of Paradise. At the northern edge of the Walled Garden, a pair of sphinxes designed by Paul Manship sit atop Iconic columns overlooking a large reflecting pool (stock with aquatic plantings and fish) and a Greek styled amphitheater. The upper garden is home to the Temple of Sky, a series of Corinthian columns surrounded a mosaic of Medusa. Other main features include the Vista, a series of descending stairs modeled after the Villa D'Este (Lake Como, Italy)leading to two 2,000 year old Roman marble columns and the Temple of Love, a rocky outcropping with cantilevered terraces, winding steps and a rounded temple.
In its prime Samuel Untermyer employed more than 60 full time gardeners, sprawled over 150 acres overlooking the Hudson River and had 60 greenhouses. The gardens were opened to the public weekly throughout the 1920s and 1930, and were frequented by over 30,000 in one day in 1939. Today the Untermyer Gardens Conservancy is led by former NYC Landmarks Preservation Commissioner and architect Stephen Byrns, who has raised upwards of $1 million this year ($2 million in the last 5 years) for an annual restoration effort. This year’s project was to bring back the waterfall feature at the Temple of Love. The Conservancy’s herculean efforts, in partnership with the City, are nothing short of spectacular.
Most recent news article: New York Times: Restoring a Temple of Love as a Yonkers Eden Is Revived
The Hudson River Museum
The Hudson River Museum is the largest cultural institution in Westchester County and a multidisciplinary complex that draws its identity from its site on the banks of the Hudson River, seeking to broaden the cultural horizons of all its visitors. The Museum collections focus on 19th-century through contemporary American Art; Glenview, an 1876 house on the National Register of Historic Places; Hudson Riverama, an environmental teaching gallery; a state-of-the-art, 120-seat planetarium, and a 400-seat outdoor amphitheater. It presents exhibitions, programs, teaching initiatives, research, collection, preservation, and conservation – a wide range of activities that interpret its collections, interests and communities. Hrm.org
Wyeth Wonderland: Joséphine Douet Envisions Andrew Wyeth's World Closes May 14
This photography and painting exhibition explores the people and landscapes of Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, where the legendary painter Andrew Wyeth lived and worked. Joséphine Douet selected 12 of Wyeth's drawings and watercolors, on loan from Adelson Galleries, to pair with her photographs of the region.
Also on View
Red Grooms: The Blue and the Gray - Closes May 7
Lincoln on the Hudson by Red Grooms - Closes May 14
Saturday May 6 is the Museum's Annual Kite Festival. Indoor and outdoor activities include kite contests and a kite-building LEGO workshop. See hrm.org for additional programs. Music by DJ NessDigital. Superlicious food truck on site.
Sunday May 7, join actor-storyteller Lou Del Biano, who portrays President Lincoln for an interactive performance at 1 & 3pm. At 2 & 4pm, Linda Russel sings and plays Civil War folk songs, interspersed with excerpts from period diaries and letters.
Take a 1st Sunday Gallery tour of "The Blue and The Gray" at 1pm.